An Open Letter to Our Daughter (From Her Daddy)

James wrote this precious letter to our baby girl this weekend (featured on his blog) and we read it to her. This man melts my heart! I am left without words to describe how grateful I am to call him my husband and Camille’s daddy! His love for her shines through constantly whether it’s making it to every single OB visit or reading to her from her Bible. And I love love love how his eyes light up when he gets to talk about his sweet baby girl. We cannot wait to meet her, hold her, and love her in just a short 7 weeks 🙂 Without rambling any more, here is James’s letter to our Camille:

camille-collage-small

My Dearest Sweet Camille,

As I write you this letter, you are being snuggled inside your mommy’s tummy. We know you must love it in there because you’re apparently having a solo dance party 24/7, but soon it’ll be time to meet us face-to-face. That’s when the real fun starts and you’ll get to meet all the people that love you so much. Oh, and by the way, if you think the climate and temperature changes in there are crazy just wait ’til you get out here. And yes, I’m very aware that your mommy’s body heat turns up to a degree only a kiln can reach when she sleeps.

You’re growing like crazy right now and a few months ago you grew ears so you could hear us say how much “we love you.” That’s why we read you books every day. Your favorite one that we read to you, the one you always move around during, is called The Bible. That’s a special book and you’ll learn why soon.

A couple weeks ago we got to see your eyes and your beautiful eyelashes. I still can’t believe how long they are already! We can’t wait to see your eyes starring back at us and watching them squint as you smile and laugh (we’ll be doing that a lot because your mommy is HILARIOUS)! Once you’re able to open them up out here you’ll get to SEE how much we love you too.

You’re also going to get to see these bazillion outfits you have that are taking up all the room in our closet. Your mom also bought you some pretty funny cloth diapers. Just wait until you see them. I’m telling ya, your mommy has an awesome sense of humor and I can only hope that you take after her. I put together your stroller that you get to ride in when we go for jogs and walks around the park where you’ll get to see other children too.

There are a lot of other children in this world, but you’re going to live a life that most children only dream of having all because your mommy and I made a choice not to settle for “normal.” We’re very fortunate to have friends that opened our eyes to something better than going to work every day after dropping you off at a daycare. You’ll never know that life my sweet little girl and you’ll never know the inside of a daycare. Instead of paying someone else to raise you, we will be the primary influence in your life because we will be full-time parents. How cool is that!? That means we’ll have even more fun time together!

I know we are going to have a lot of those fun times, but I’ve got to tell you that your daddy was scared when we found out that God gave us you. Your mommy and I prayed and promised God that when He was ready to give you to us that we would be ready too. My fear was not that we weren’t ready to take care of you. My fear was that I did not know how to do the best job of raising you to find the man that will take the best care of you one day. You see, the day will likely come when I hand you over to someone else, but don’t worry… I will always be your daddy. By the way, while we are on this subject, if you want to join a convent then you will make things a lot easier on me. Devoting your life to God by becoming a nun is a very noble vocation. 😉

Although I was scarred, I want you to know though that in the past few weeks I realized that I am not scared anymore. I know exactly what I have to do. If I want you to marry a man that’s going to treat you the way you deserve then you need to see me treat your mommy that way. I have to be the man I want you to marry. I have to go to mass with you every week and make sure we read God’s word together. I’m going to have to take you on dates so you have an example of how that should go (I’m very excited about our first one!). I have to live my life out as an example of the Godly man that will take care of you one day. Believe me when I say, your daddy is going to set the bar high my sweet pea.

We love you so much and we cannot wait to hold you and we get to do that in only 7 more weeks!!! BUT please don’t get too excited as well and come out to hug us early. Seven weeks isn’t that long Camille. You can hang in there. We’ll see you soon my love, but now it’s time to read you your favorite book again.

Love,

Daddy

P.S. If you want to sleep through the night so that mommy gets a good night’s rest I promise she won’t be upset by that. 🙂

One thought on “An Open Letter to Our Daughter (From Her Daddy)

Leave a Reply

